Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Book Review: Addicted to You (Port Lucia #1) by Renita Pizzitola

In a sweet, sexy novel for fans of Abbi Glines, Monica Murphy, and Christina Lauren, the author of Just a Little Kiss tells the story of two friends who each want more—and the love triangle that’s holding them back.

In the sleepy fishing town of Port Lucia, everyone knows everyone, but Isla Diaz really knows Colby Callahan, with his blue-gray eyes and the tousled brown hair always tucked sexily into his cap. After all, Isla has been crazy about Colby ever since she can remember—even if he treats her like a kid sister. Now, without her best friend, Felicity, around, Isla spots a golden opportunity to take things to the next level . . . or at least wrangle a kiss out of Colby.

By random chance, a tropical storm is headed toward the coast, leaving them stranded together overnight—and there’s nothing to do but drink. As the evening wears on, Isla gets the feeling that her not-so-secret crush may finally release her from the friend zone. With her dreams finally coming true, Isla isn’t about to pump the brakes, but is this just a one-time thing? What if the next morning, she needs more than Colby’s prepared to give?

Little does she know, Colby would like nothing more than a real relationship with Isla. She’s always been the one. But there’s a very good reason he’s been keeping his distance. Someone else loves her too, someone who also means the world to Colby: his brother.

I was pleasantly surprised with this book! I've never read this author before but I will again! I haven't been reading many New Adult Romance novels lately and this book makes me question that decision. This review is going to be a bit short ... I don't want to give away anything in the plot and the more I talk about it, the more likely that is going to be. 

Renita Pizzitola seems to channel her inner young lady. She writes about boy troubles like she just went through them the other day and they are fresh in her mind. It really brought me back to my teenage years and the crushing second-guessing that girls seem to do when a cute young man is involved. The characters - especially Isla - were refreshingly realistic and wonderfully well written. It's because of the characters and how completely they were fleshed out that I kept coming back to the story and it stayed with me for a while after I read it. 

The ending though ... was a bit sappy sweet. I didn't think that it fit the rest of the book in the tone that it was but it wasn't so off kilter that it ruined the book. It just didn't feel right to me. 

And the epilogue ... it was completely surprising to not have the epilogue be from Isla's POV but I absolutely adored the change in pace. I loved it and it kind of redeemed the ending for me. 

I've already added more of Pizzitola's books to my ridiculously long TBR pile but I'm pretty sure that I'll be getting to them sooner rather than later. Glad I've found another author to follow.

* I received this novel in exchange for an honest review *

Available Now

No comments:

Post a Comment